Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 5th, 2024


Goodreads says I have finished 14 books out of 75 that I committed myself to read this year. That’s 18% done. I am not attempting to read more unlike those years that I reached 150 to 200 books a year. My priority now is taking care of my health. Sometimes, I still have enough time to read though.

I encountered Josie Silver back in October 2018 and read my first book of hers entitled One Day in December and wrote a review of it here. Read it twice, that’s how good it was. She has published five books in all, read the first four, as for the fifth one, I wonder what language it was translated because it mentioned the same characters in one of her books but has no short reviews. Just done with the fourth one called A Winter in New York, a story of a young chef who struggled with life and found an Italian family who were related to her dead mother. They were not related by blood but through experiences with her mom. I gave it four ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. It was that good.

Two days ago, I started reading Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. It is her first novel and according to Goodreads, it was translated into 30 languages and shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction and the Guardian First Book Award. It’s a brilliant literary debut inspired by a true story: the final days of a young woman accused of murder in Iceland in 1829. I am still in the middle of it, finding it hard to pronounce the characters’ name.

Goodreads keeps track of my virtual library so I know what books I have read before and I read synopsis of a particular one before I read it for good.

Read Full Post »