Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 8th, 2018


In the Catholic calendar, the Feast of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary is always celebrated every September 8. The Blessed Mother occupies a unique place in the history of salvation.

There were years when I blogged about Mama  Mary’s birthday and my stats have gone up by the thousand. I loved  those times that readers appreciated my posts.  As I’ve always said,  as Catholics, we don’t worship Mama Mary but we venerate her. Veneration comes from the Latin word veneratio or dulia, Greek δουλεία, douleia. It is  the act of honoring a saint, a person who has been identified as having a high degree of sanctity or holiness. Since she is the mother of the Kings of kings, she is the saint of saints. We honor her by praying the rosary, observing her feasts in the Catholic calendar, or when we bow our heads while praying the creed.

Years ago, I made this meme from a photo I culled from the net using one of the apps I discovered earlier.

Happy Birthday MAMA MARY.

Read Full Post »