Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 3rd, 2018


via And It’s Okay To Be Smart

Read Full Post »


I was not mistaken.

Yesterday, Sunday, most radio stations played Christmas  songs in the air. You know those old familiar tunes and lyrics that you have memorized through the years. And you’re happy. They remind  you  of  Christmas past and those cold nights and foggy mornings. Yes, sometimes you wake up to cold morning breeze touching your cheeks, And yes, you’ll surely enjoy that hot cup of coffee and pan de sal of course. I’d like to think pan de sal  is comfort food for most Filipinos. It is part of their breakfast along with tocino (Filipino cured meat and tastes like bacon.) or longganisa  (Filipino sausage). Pan de sal is a common bread roll which you can buy hot and fresh from the oven at any neighborhood corner.  Although the price hasn’t gone up yet  (it’s pegged at P2 pesos each), the size has visibly shrunk.  Yet you still enjoy waiting for that vendor in a bike selling them every morning.   You patiently wait for that “potpot” sound of  the pan de sal vendor.

Longganisa, my recipe.

Pan de sal

Tocino

I just smiled.

I smiled while watching the early morning show on television.  They had guests who sang Christmas carols and a chef who prepared those mouth-watering Christmas recipes and menus. I am thinking of shopping early for family’s Christmas gifts.  Hopefully by November, they are all wrapped under the tree.  Did I tell you that we usually put up our  Christmas tree and decorations by November?

My own Christmas countdown and it is only September 3.  The air lanes are busy just like me, anticipating a happy occasion no matter how hard life is.

 

 

Read Full Post »