Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 29th, 2018


It’s a sunny Wednesday morning here. Perfect time to spend a few moments in the garden. Yes, just harvested about half a kilo of calamansi (Philippine lime) and gave some to our neighbor.

I saw this lovely meme from one of my friend’s walls at Facebook early this morning. I smiled and thought of sharing it here.

Reading, my favorite activity since I was in high school. Back in my grade school days, we didn’t have a public library in the province and reading materials were  so few and far between. I became a voracious reader when I worked for almost three years during college at my university library as a student librarian.

If those studies are true, maybe I am in the right path. Of course I love listening to music but always, reading takes precedent.  I am on a leisurely read nowadays after finishing the 2018 Reading Challenge at Goodreads finishing 100 books. I am still trying to find good books. I no longer read self-help books, I’ve done that several years ago. I  now prefer historical fiction, sometimes contemporary and YA books too and occasionally some memoirs in between.  Lately I discovered a gifted British author of thrillers and suspense and finished reading two of his books. Presently, I am reading another book by Susan Mallery, an American author who is into romance , fiction and chick lit.  I love stories of families and their own struggles in life, the way they deal with adversities and how they triumph over them.  Though I am not much into romance books (sometimes they are so predictable), When We found Home seems to be a good one, a story of three half-siblings, mothered by three different women with a common father.

Does reading really reduces stress? I believe so.  Where can you find a place you’ve never been to but is so vivid in your mind? Where can you find characters that somehow you could relate to?  Have you traveled the world while reading books?

What are you reading now?

Read Full Post »