Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 9th, 2018


I miss my university. I miss University of Santo Tomas. Stayed there for nine years (from high school to college).

The traditional Welcome Walk for freshmen students was held at the university last  August 07, 2018. They passed  through the Arch of the Centuries as a symbol of ‘becoming Thomasians  because the same Arch was the doorway of the University when it was still in Intramuros. This is called the “Rite of Passage.” This tradition started in the school year 2002. Once you become a student of the university,  you are called a Tomasino.  An earlier mass is also traditionally celebrated by no less than the university Rector. UST students number anywhere between 42,000 to 44,000, where some 12,000 are freshmen. The walk is a symbolic act in their readiness to prepare for professional life later on.

A photo I took of the Arch of the Centuries years ago. I can’t help but take pictures every time I visit UST. You can see the main building centered from afar.

 

I was watching the early morning show today when they showed a video of the event held last August 7. I have to search some uploaded videos on YouTube to watch it in full.

Welcome to UST guys. I really hope you’ll enjoy your stay there.

Read Full Post »