Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 16th, 2020


The other day, Nissa asked me what I wanted for my birthday.  Nothing much I said except to see them again with Nate hopefully.

But if there is something material that I really want, sets of pajamas and T-shirts for daily use. I gave two bagfuls of old clothes a few months ago to donate to those who were victims of fire.  They say that when you don’t use any item in your closet for at least five years, you have to give them away. Is that so?

Since there is no social life (because of the Covid) and I don’t go out much anyway, and Josef and Jovy staying home to work, I was saved the weekly task of ironing clothes and pants. Shorts and T-shirts  are the “in” thing nowadays in our household. Convenient, easy to wash, no need for ironing.  That’s one positive thing that this Covid 19 brought, being together except weekends when Josef and  Jovy visit the latter’s grandmother and not seeing Nissa’s family because they could not bring Nate with them. We get to update each other though through  video chats. Lately, Nate tried voice chat, leaving me some messages but always he ends up saying, “I love you Nonna”.

Mom is 91 going 92 by April next year. She’s been with us for more than a year now.  Since she is hard of hearing, most of the time, shouting to her ears is the norm. She is becoming forgetful too. She fills her time watching television and playing card games.  Even if she watches  news every day, she does not understand the implication of not going out especially  at  her age. Sometimes, Josef uses the notepad to answer all her questions, why she can’t go home to the province, why  she could not visit my older brother’s place, why she could not go out and a  hundred more, the same questions every day.  It is so frustrating at times.

We always have a choice in life, right? Always choose to be happy, seeing the positive side of things. Though it is a lonely world, I still enjoy puttering around in the garden, finding new authors to follow, reading to relax, experimenting on what to cook in the kitchen and of course keeping this blog always updated.  Dull? Nope! Simple things are enjoyable as long as your focus are on them.

Read Full Post »