Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 13th, 2018


Some call it the big C, I don’t.

The big C for me is Christ. At one time in our lives, we experience such life-changing ailments and fear for our health, we are afraid to die. But let’s face it, when our time comes, no matter how careful we are, no matter how we show the world how brave we are, then it is really time to go.

It takes courage to face something we didn’t even expect. It takes a brave outlook in life to go on.  Today is my 9th year since I underwent sigmoid surgery because of stage 3 colon cancer.  Six cycles of chemotherapy, almost six months in the process. I’ve said before in my other blog posts that every July 13 for me is a celebration of life, a life of second chances.

Yes, life has changed since then. I gained more friends here, I  got a wonderful gift when my grandson Nate was born, I’ve been strong enough to face those everyday challenges that are part of life. Additional nine years of bliss, small miracles that happen every day, wonderful  things that made me laugh and smile and cry sometimes because of joy.

Life is a miracle. Every day that we are alive, there is always sometime worth-celebrating.  There is always something that makes us stronger in our faith, courageous in life’s battles and  having  enough confidence to face life itself.

Courage is not just the strength to go on, it is going on when you don’t have enough of it. The journey is not always a paved highway, but sometimes they are back roads, the roads less traveled.  The destination doesn’t matter much but the journey does. We will encounter obstacles, make mistakes along the way but we will learn through it all.  Sometimes we discover beautiful paths.

For we walk by faith, not by sight. – 2 Corinthians 5:7

 

 

Read Full Post »