Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 31st, 2018


Dirty nails.

Aching fingers.

Backache.

One gets engrossed gardening but before you know it the sun is hot on your back.  This morning though, the sun didn’t show up  and the sky is still cloudy until now. Perfect time to garden.

Since I became a member of Gardeners’ Tambayan, I was inspired to plant more and  try planting veggies.  My sweet potatoes are making a show-off, my Thai Chili  is bearing fruits. I used some of it to make a dipping sauce with vinegar, garlic and a little salt.  This could last for more than a month even without refrigeration. The okra  I planted haven’t shown their faces yet. The water spinach in pots are sprouting new leaves.   My pink angel cuttings and Ti plants are ready for replanting. What a thrill!

This morning I planted my deep pink Vinca. One packet is good enough. I tried mixing it with the growing light pink Vinca  direct to the soil.  I will look for the white ones and group them together.  Oh, the joy of thinking what they will look like once they grow.

It seems like gardening would not be such if I have to wear gloves while preparing the soil bed for planting. I love to feel the  earth in my hands, feel its texture, mix  it with finely chopped eggshells.  The latter serve as organic fertilizer for my plants.  We have a compost pit in a little corner of the garden. It is where we put fallen leaves from our jackfruit trees, the cut carabao grass  and other  veggie peelings. They become rich soil after a while. Just perfect for  several pots I have to fill.

Like everything else, growing a garden is a hit and miss thing. They say you have a “green thumb” if you  are  successful  in tending one.

 

 

 

Read Full Post »