Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 23rd, 2017


I’d like to think we are not that old yet. Most of us have just reached the ripe age of 60 and we call that being  senior citizens  here.

Tuesday afternoon was another day so memorable to me. A small group of high school batch mates came over for a visit.  The batch is having a grand reunion come January 2018 and the core group is busy contacting classmates and batch mates to attend. If I am not mistaken, this will be the 7th grand reunion since 2003.  We left the portals of  the University of Santo Tomas Education High School almost forty-five years ago.  I attended three  reunions in the past and some small get-together in between.  It is always nice to get in touch, renewing friendship and old ties.

Willie took some shots in his cellphone.

 

Of course, the smiles would always be there.

I remember our days in high school.  Coming from the province, it was hard for me to adjust during the first few months of my high school days. I was a shy kid, not really that friendly.  Imagine, immersing your student days in a big university with new  classmates, teachers, environment and all.

Life in high school.

There was a separate entrance for boys and girls. We were in the morning session while the boys were scheduled in the afternoon.  We only get to mingle together during school activities like the different programs, Sunday masses, Christmas celebrations and the like.  Some of my classmates though managed to meet the boys and became boyfriends/girlfriends.  The excitement of youth…haha  🙂

No stress.

We always emphasize that we would just enjoy the camaraderie when we see each other which is not often.  But always, always, there will be laughter. Most of us have our families now, some of us with grown kids and grandchildren.  We enjoy reminiscing about high school days, keeping up to date with news  about other classmates who  have gone ahead of us.

Food.

No get-together would be a success without food, right? I prepared a simple pasta dish for them  and ensaymada.  They brought me a big box of ensaymada too of a different brand. No matter how simple the fare is, what is important  is being together.

Hopefully, we will see each other again one of these days. Elsa, who came alone  ahead of the group said, ” Now that I know your place, I would surely come over to visit you again”.

Read Full Post »


Gosh, I lost another friend.

This is a sad day. Early this morning I learned of the devastating news that another friend is gone. I met her online through Multiply seven years ago. It was one of those online meetings through common friends. She wrote poetry and migrated to the US more than three years ago. In between exchanging news and comments later at Facebook, we finally met personally together with her two grandchildren. It was a lovely  meeting, talking about  family, friends, social media and books.  Met her again when she was completing her requirements for an interview at the US Embassy about six or five years ago. I gave her a rosary and she gave me a set of Hallmark stationery and several gardening mags.  She found out she had cancer  when she was already in the US.

Time is a thief.

I thought she was doing okay already but she died last night. We planned of meeting again  when she comes home but death claimed her. She published a book of poems and she said she will give me a copy. So sad really that I won’t be able to see her again. She lives on through her words. She had a WordPress blog but never updated it after a few entries.

Rest in peace Ding. Keeping you in my prayers.

Read Full Post »