Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 25th, 2016

A Simple Gift


Sometimes I think, the word “simple” is so overused here on my blog.  I smile at the thought that here is another blog post with that word.

Last night, Josef came home and gifted me with a silver-plated rosary bracelet. What a lovely surprise. He bought it at our Parish and have it blessed before going home. I make rosaries and give them as gifts to friends and family members but I love receiving  them too as gifts from  friends.  A few years ago, an  online friend from Netherlands sent me a rosary from Siena when they visited the place, her sister came over to visit me and gave me a prayer pamphlet together with the rosary.  When Fr. Lovell graduated from Theology nine years ago, he gave me a blessed rosary from the Vatican. Some friends from our Catholic page who are based in Rome sent me rosaries and key rings. I love those two which were made of roses.  Every time I see a rose bloom and smell the delicate scent, I am always reminded of Mama Mary and my rose rosaries.  When I can’t sleep at night, I clutch my rosary and pray, sometimes never finishing a decade  but the tremendous comfort it brings is priceless.

Josef took pictures of the lovely “carrozas”  for the images of saints during the Good Friday procession. They passed by the house around 7pm  and the Pietà  and the image of  Mama Mary  came last.

It’s 3:50am as  I write this.  It’s Black Saturday and  I look forward to the Easter celebration tomorrow.  Happy Easter to all.

 

Read Full Post »


Left the house very early this morning  for the Via Crucis at our local church.  Josef has work (the American  company does not observe Holy Week but here in our country, it’s a long four-day weekend) so it was just a two-hour visit, a yearly devotion of prayers and reflections  on the Way of the Cross. There was a time when we used to visit several churches every Holy Thursday going as far  as the surrounding towns in Laguna and the eastern loop of Rizal towns followed by the Last Supper mass.  Just finished watching Siete Palabras (Seven Last Words) at Santo Domingo Church where my co-admin, Fr. Louie was one of the preachers. Our Catholic page, Apostles Filipino Catholic Community is on its 6th year this coming April. Sometimes I can’t believe that I have lasted this long at the site to help with our online apostolate. It’s a promise to myself that as long as I can, I would help.

Yesterday, I had a long chat with my priest son, Fr. Lovell. He had fever for four days and ended up being admitted at the hospital.  What a way to celebrate Holy Week.  I prayed hard that he will get well soon.  There are times when he would preside on masses in pilgrimage churches and he would always text me and ask  about my prayer petitions. The answer  is always the same, “good health for the family”.

I always believe in the power of prayers.  I always believe that God answers  prayers in His time.  I am lost without prayers, my intimate and personal conversations with God.  Back when I was undergoing chemotherapy, I always prayed that if I get well, He would bring me back to my normal health so I could take care of my family longer. Answered prayers are special gifts that gladden the heart and uplift the soul.

A close friend had this link posted on her wall, Pins of Light by Fr. J. I made my online retreat there two days ago. It was a beautiful and lovely journey. Every year, they post  something you can reflect on, you can visit it regularly though  because there are several blog posts worth-reading.

May your celebration of Good Friday be as solemn and meaningful as the rest of the week. I am looking forward to Easter Sunday.

Read Full Post »


Tanay

If you can find a path that has no obstacles, it probably doesn’t lead anywhere.

frank a. clark

 

Read Full Post »