Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 4th, 2013


Adversity is not detour. It is part of the path.

You will encounter obstacles. You will make mistakes. Be grateful for both. Your obstacles and mistakes will be your greatest teachers. And the only way to not make mistakes in this life is to do nothing. which is the biggest mistake of all.

Your challenges, if you’ll let them, will become your greatest allies. Mountains can crush or raise you, depending on which side of the mountain you choose to stand on. All history bears out that the great, those who have changed the world, have all suffered great challenges. And, more times than not, it’s precisely those challenges that, in God’s time, lead to triumph.

And those are quotes from one of the latest books by Richard Paul Evans, one of my favorite authors. I haven’t blogged for a while,  and I mean writing a blog post with more than just one line. The past few days, I have posted several short prayers that  I regularly compose for my online apostolate page. I am glad though that despite the absence of  a longer and more substantial post, you still visit my site and make comments on my previous blogs. I am grateful 🙂

I’ve been indisposed for almost a week. I hurt my foot while trimming our carabao grass a week ago.  It was a good three inches cut from the blade of the grass cutter. I tripped  when I suddenly stood up and my foot caught the exposed blade.  It’s a good thing though that my anti-tetanus vaccine is still in effect. I can now walk straight without dragging my right foot  and the wound is almost healed.  I spent the last few days reading, and  spending an hour each day  in front of my computer to update  our page.  The luxury of doing nothing but read and just cook simple meals for the family is heaven.  Imagine yourself reading a new book each day and catching up on the stash that you have for so many months now, choose what you think is interesting or what you think is the shortest. I am hooked on historical fiction at the moment reading The Last Days of the Romanovs  by  Helene Rappaport.  And this may sound crazy because I read a few of their story on the net complete with gargantuan pictures before I started reading the book. It is a historical fiction, a detailed  chronology of events before the Imperial family of Russia, the Romanovs, were executed in 1918. It is nice to learn a bit of Russian history in a fiction format.  It reminds me of another author that I read in the past, Ayn Rand, a Russian-American author more famous for her two novels, The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged. 

One of my book buddies posted on her timeline that our summer capital, Baguio City is slowly changing its face. I just can’t imagine Burnham Park  being fenced and gated. Its charm lies in the greens all around.

Flowers don’t grow on concrete, do they?

Read Full Post »


IMG_3735

It is nice to wake up  early and see the unfolding  of a new day. Thank You for another day of  seeing the dawn and witnessing  another sunrise. You never fail to show me  how much I am loved.

Read Full Post »