Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 23rd, 2024


The past few days, I’ve been trying to forget the ‘would be’ outcome of my JAK 2 mutation assay.  Not  inspired to blog for several days but just lost myself reading.

Found three books that I rated five⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ each.

The Warsaw Orphan by Kelly Rimmer was inspired by the real-life  heroin who saved thousands of Jewish children during WWII. Read that book and wrote a review a long time ago. Irena’s Children: The Extraordinary Story of the Woman Who Saved 2,500 Children from the  Warsaw Ghetto by Tillar J. Mazzeo.

Hurt and hope, loss and love along with anger and forgiveness, such speaks The Warsaw Orphan.  If you are a historical fiction fan, this is an absolute must-read. It speaks of the power of hope, love and survival during one of the darkest times in history.

I also love Kelly Rimmer in The Things We Cannot Say giving it another  five ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐. It is a moving,compelling and heartwarming story that covers so many topics such as war, love, loss and friendship. A coming of age story that speaks of love amidst the dangers of war-torn Poland. It speaks of a family’s desire to know its roots.

I haven’t read David Baldacci in a while. He is brilliant in A Calamity of  Souls, another five ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ for me. A white lawyer defending a black man. Taking up the fight against racism, the subject is nothing  new but this was written well. The author explained that it took him a decade to write this book. I just love courtroom scenes.

Done with 37 books out of 75 I promised myself to read this year.

Read Full Post »