Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 17th, 2009


Another day bonding with the family. Being awake at 6 am is a little late for me. Hubby and I watched DVD last night so I missed seeing the break of dawn and the early visitors in the garden. Waking up as early as 5am gives you that privilege of hearing the twits and chirps of the maya birds as they hop to and from the branches of our avocado tree, it’s a sound echoing the promise of another lovely and great day. I wonder why as soon as the sun rises, they are out of sight, only to come back the following morning. The only time I don’t see them is when it is raining.

Listening and watching Fr. Joey Faller celebrating Sunday mass on TV is another great start. You can say, it’s a force of habit, it has been my regular Sunday routine, aside of course from the regular 9am mass which we attend at the nearby church.

This is the 6th Sunday of Easter. “As the Father has loved me, so I have loved you; remain in my love. You will remain in my love if you keep my commandments, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in His love. “(John 15:9-10).

Yes, Love is the word of the day- that much overused and abused word given meaning in a way people want it to mean. It’s love that makes poets in all of us and it’s love that makes us swoon and sing, it’s love that makes the world go round. And because love means a lot to different people, it gives several colors to our own existence, a kaleidoscope akin to a rainbow. And when things go wrong, love comes flying out of the window. Don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those people who are so cynical in their views about love. We can’t really choose people who comes to our lives but we can always choose those we want to stay because we know they are worth-keeping.

Fr. Alexis summarized his homily with these: that there are three kinds of fruits we reap from the gospel today, the fruits of peace, joy and presence. I was laughing out loud when he ended his homily with this story. A boy and a girl promised to love each other till the end. The boy wanted to go abroad so he could save and give a good life to his future bride. He promised to write everyday. The girl was so happy receiving letters from the boy and almost everyday too, the postman never fails to deliver the boy’s letters. After a while, the big wedding came, the girl was so happy when she married her postman. Haha, poor, poor boy, the story reminds me of the saying that goes,”ako ang nagtanim, nagbayo at nagsaing, subalit nung maluto, iba ang kumain”. And I thought, it’s good there’s the e-mail nowadays.

We passed by Ever Ortigas Mall before we went home, bought a few groceries and did a little window shopping. I told my daughter it was time to visit our friendly Booksale lady at the second floor. So we did, and I asked her if there were new titles in store. We were in a quandary on what to buy. We saw Jeffrey Archer’s The Eleventh Commandment, James Patterson’s Kiss the Girls ( I read from a blog at WordPress that he is the highest paid author nowadays), Nelson de Mille’s Wild Fire and a chicklit entitled Almost Perfect by Julie Ortolon. Oh yes, I saw a copy of Angels and Demons, another much-publicized book by Dan Brown but I was not inclined to read another book of his. One was enough to make me believe that he is not really that good an author. Nissa bought a copy of Da Vinci Code when it was spreading like wildfire among book lovers. What was all the hype, anyway? And do you know, Da Vinci Code was eaten by termites about a year ago along with some unknown volumes we had in our shelf? Perhaps, that was meant to be. You can’t really leave a bookstore without buying anything, right? That is almost sacrilegious to bookworms like my daughter and me, so we brought home Nelson de Mille and Julie Ortolon’s books.

By the way, I watched the initial airing of Boys Over Flowers. Wiki says that it s a 25 episode south Korean television drama adaptation from the Japanese manga Hana Yori Dango and the Taiwanese equivalent of Meteor Garden. I like the character of Ji Hoo, a calm, soft-spoken boy who plays the violin, piano and guitar. A boy after my own heart. Catch it on ABS CBN’s Channel 2. Shameless plugging!

You can read the synopsis of the story here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boys_Over_Flowers_(TV_series) Tags: and more books, ramblings

Read Full Post »