Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 12th, 2017


 

Wasted journey to the bank I must say.

I received two checks this morning representing my cash dividends from the bank where I worked before. Every start of the year, they declare dividends on outstanding shares of stock. I was so excited I didn’t notice the dates of the checks.They are both post-dated  January 20.  Only one was honored, another cash dividend from a different company which I received earlier.  When you overlook something like this, you are definitely getting old.  Or maybe I was just so excited to have it cleared so I could buy a single induction cook top. We use gas  stove and I use my portable electric oven when baking.  Hmm…still excited  though because that is an extra income for me, no need for extra cash out 🙂 if I may say.

I know, I am getting forgetful at times. Is that a sign of old age? Turning sixty somehow added to it.  I do have those moments when I am out to get something from the bedroom and I go out empty-handed, that “something” somehow forgotten but you’ve seen  another  “something” that you need to do and you do it first before remembering what you initially went there for.

Some people say that when you read a lot, your brain  is active so it keeps you away from being forgetful.  Reading  a lot keeps your mind  in good condition so to speak.  Reading improves concentration too. When you are multi-tasking, it is quite difficult to remember everything but when you concentrate on the pages of a book, the mind stays focused.   Do you agree? Eight books done so far, the phase is a little faster than before.

Do you laugh at yourself when you make a mistake and overlook something in the process? Do you just smile and say  “I’ll try harder the next time”.  I do sometimes 🙂 I am not always in a good mood though. This afternoon  after my trip to the bank, I had another opportunity to window shop and look at things that delight the senses.  So far, so good.

Read Full Post »