Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 19th, 2016


I’ve been awake since 2:30am.

I wanted to catch a few more winks but I can’t bring myself back  to sleep  so I  am  drinking a hot cup of coffee while in front of my PC.  When your thoughts wander and your mind is full of things, sometimes negative ones too, you want to shout out and say,  “Where is this world coming to? Stop the madness please and let’s unite for a common cause”.

My last two blogs were all about observations  on  what is happening around. I know, politics is really dirty. I learned that from my father since I was old enough to vote and we would all go home to the province to support a local candidate. That has changed over the years of course.  My father taught me to scrutinize the platform of each candidate we considered voting.  He would show me some clips from the national dailies and keep tabs on radio  and TV reports. I was in high school when martial law was declared under the Marcos regime.  I watched how frustrated  people were to fight something which curtailed their freedom so now we always say, “never again”.  The martial law years were dark  years  in history,  the lessons learned were lost along the way.  Sadly, our millennials  today,  the what we call Net Generation and Generation Y don’t even know how to react when we mention martial law because the martial law years or what we call the Marcos era were treated in their history books as one paragraph. The significance of how it ended  during the People Power Revolution  back in 1986 is lost to them. Another  Marcos (the son) is vying for the vice-presidential position   and based on surveys he is on the top slot.  I don’t believe in surveys by the way, they are paid ads meant to condition the minds of those who haven’t chosen who to vote for.  The real survey is on May 09, 2016.

As I’ve mentioned in my previous blogs, the divisiveness of the Filipino people is there glaring at us. Perhaps you’ve heard  of Rodrigo Duterte too, a presidential aspirant from Davao. I don’t really know how to describe him but  lately he caught international news because of that rape issue that happened several years ago and lately  in one interview he said, the mayor should have been first (to rape the victim) because she was so beautiful. Gosh, everything that comes out of his mouth is foul. The victim was an Australian. He was the mayor back then when it happened.   He earned the ire of Filipino women except  those who still believe that he could effectively run the government. True, our people need change but it is anathema to me to vote for a man who does not respect women, who kills people at a whim, who curses every time he opens his mouth and even cursed the pope in one of his previous interviews.  There was this other video where he said he would make Leni Robredo as his assistant president if he wins adding that  Leni is really beautiful at the same time showing his tongue like a   dog. This guy is a narcissistic idiot.

I care for the future of my kids, more for the future of my grandson that is why in my own little way, I am campaigning for Leni Robredo and Mar Roxas. I am sad for what is happening now.  I care for my country and its people. May I ask you a favor? Could you spare a thought or a simple prayer for the Philippines? Thank you.

I digress.

I’ve finally reached  the 400,000 plus hits yesterday, another milestone in  my blogging journey and for this  I thank you, my dear readers, followers and online friends for the support. I wouldn’t  have lasted in the blogging world this long if not for you.Here’s a toast to finding more blogger friends and appreciating what you share.

And yes, it is my mom’s 87th birthday today. Happy birthday mom.  I am so glad that you are with us to celebrate it.

 

Read Full Post »