Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 2nd, 2014


What do you say about someone who cries while reading books that deal with families? You’ll probably laugh and say, “it’s just fiction, they don’t happen in real life”. That’s one good thing about reading Jojo Moyes books though, they seem real enough that you don’t want them to end  and you think about the characters long after you’ve read the last sentence and the last word. I encountered Jojo Moyes a few months ago. She was a new author in my reading list so I didn’t expect that I’ll enjoy her books.  I am on my 6th book now and so far, Me Before You, the first book that I read is one of the best and so is The Girl You Left Behind. I won’t go into the details of the stories and I wonder if I’ve even blogged about them before, suffice to say, I rated most of her books four and five stars on Goodreads.  The other day, I started reading One Plus One and it really made me laugh and cry and felt all other emotions in between.  Find out why.  I am quoting this short summary from Goodreads.

Suppose your life sucks. A lot. Your husband has done a vanishing act, your teenage stepson is being bullied and your math whiz daughter has a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that you can’t afford to pay for. That’s Jess’s life in a nutshell—until an unexpected knight-in-shining-armor offers to rescue them. Only Jess’s knight turns out to be Geeky Ed, the obnoxious tech millionaire whose vacation home she happens to clean. But Ed has big problems of his own, and driving the dysfunctional family to the Math Olympiad feels like his first unselfish act in ages . . . maybe ever.

This is her best so far and I intend to read all her other books when I finish my self-imposed gardening assignment. On second thoughts though, gardening will always be a priority. I could not let the carabao grass and the peanut grass grow unmanageable again. My back aches just thinking about it.

Jojo Moyes, you are the best!

 

Read Full Post »