Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 9th, 2014


I was just but a kid when the Beatles came into the limelight, taking everyone by storm  and with their catchy brand of music that defined the 60’s. If you don’t belong to the age of the “baby boomers”  (Wikipedia defines them as those who were born between the years 1946 and 1964) you’re not probably familiar with the names John, Paul, George and Ringo but I doubt it,  even my twenty-nine year old son is familiar with their music.

Last night, I was searching for  the AM band that I regularly listen to every weekend but I could not find it so I switched to another station and found this sports channel playing, what else, The Beatles. They started on the first appearance of the Beatles on The Ed Sullivan Show, playing tracks that are now so familiar with most of us. It was in relation to the 50 years celebration of the group since they first set foot in the United States back in 1964.  It was a lovely four-hour of listening to several  of their well-loved songs, live recordings of their guesting at the show. Come to think of it, they are one of my favorite groups but I don’t have a single CD of their songs, I do have several back copies of Jingle Chordbook magazine though, where they were regularly featured. Maybe, in my entire life, they are the only group whose songs I know so much about, lyrics and all.  An artist friend who is a Beatles fan all these years named one of his sons John Paul George (I am not kidding) and  his nickname (yeah, you guessed it right) is of course Ringo.

I am looking forward to next Saturday’s feature –  their  love songs as a group and as individual artists. Of course, it is easier to catch them on YouTube but listening to them while you are relaxing is still the best way of appreciating their music. Don’t you just wish you could own this latest 13 CD Beatles collection? I wish 🙂

beatles

Got this pic from Photobucket, a picture of John, Paul, George and Ringo.

I do remember watching their first movie A Hard Day’s Night with my nine-year old son two decades ago, a feature  in one of the newest television channels back then.  You can still catch it on YouTube. As with other groups that have disbanded for good, the Beatles will be remembered for their music.

Read Full Post »