Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 15th, 2011


I’d love to  borrow Jose Mari Chan’s words just for this blog.If a mother has that everlasting affinity to her daughter, a father has that special bond  that only he could fulfill.

Sing me a song again, Daddy
Sing me a happy verse.
Teach me those clever lines you sang
As you carried me on your shoulders.
Sing me that hymn that you so loudly
Sang in church with mom.
Sing it again to me and fill me
With all your words of wisdom.

Comforting words of love when I
Would get home from school in tears.
Somehow your songs have stayed within me
Down through all the years.
Once when my younger heart was broken
Your shoulder was there to cry on.
Sing me those songs I know will linger
Long after you have gone.

I am standing at the threshold
Of a chapter in my life
I am asking for your blessing
As I’m about to be the wife
Of a man I know who loves me
And I’m proud to be his bride.
Dad the time has come for me to leave your side.

So, sing me a song again, Daddy.
Sing me a lullaby.
Wrap me inside your arms, Daddy,
‘Though this is not goodbye.
Your songs will live forever
In my heart. When times get rough
The ones I’ll most remember
Are your songs of love.

Our good friend Fr. Aly Barcinal officiated the mass during Nissa’s wedding. We have known him since  Nissa was still in first year high school, when we transferred to our new home back in 1995. He was the one who blessed our house and we have maintained the friendship until now. There was a part of the mass right after the wedding rites in which he asked hubby to say a few words  to Obet, his son-in-law. We didn’t know about it and hubby was not prepared for it. I am glad though  that he was not because what he said was a spontaneous sharing and speech that I know came from the heart. He emphasized two points – the good news and bad news. When he mentioned that, I was looking at Fr. Aly and he was looking back at me smiling. I was wondering what could be the bad news because for me, the wedding itself is good news to all of us.

He said that the good news  was , “I am  very happy that I am  not losing a daughter but gaining a son. Lumaki ang pamilya ko.”  Then he added, “Welcome to the family Obet.”  The bad news was, he won’t be able to see his daughter as often as he wants because she’ll be starting a new life now. I heaved a sigh of relief. Some of the guests applauded. Then Fr. Aly called Obet in front and urged him to say his response. We were all laughing when he said “Thank you Papa, this is the first time I am calling you Papa. And I promise to take care of Nissa.” They said a lot more than these but  I could not exactly remember. I saw some friends shedding copious tears. It was a lovely exchange between father and son.
At the venue at Ibarra’s Garden, one part of the program was the traditional father-daughter dance.  Josh (our musician) and his group played Sing Me A Song Again Daddy. It was so touching, and it made me feel  so nostalgic. I remember the times when she was a little girl, the years when hubby has to go abroad and stay there for sometime because of work and the only communication we had were through letters, voice tapes and occasional phone calls.
We are glad that she has finally found a man to love and to spend the rest of her life with. We were teasing each other yesterday, we told them, we want to have grand kids soon. 🙂

Read Full Post »